A Long Way Home Chapter Nineteen


(Hold it, Hold it. Are you trying to trick me? …Is this a kissing book?)
https://www.patreon.com/posts/long-way-home-103173432

Rajan felt Devaj waiting for him in the Fountain courtyard. “I don’t like it,” he told Irazu as they flew above what would have been a stretch of mansions at the real Stonefountain City. Instead, a forest of trees grew beside the river at the base of the waterfall. Stonefountain Palace glimmered in the sunlight above it. But instead of being built from white limestone like the palace in Aesir, or covered with gold like the palace in Kundiland, the one Rajan now approached was built from dragon-carved gray stone blocks. The gray stone, couched on the mountainside amid the untouched greenery, gave it a savage, uncivilized feel. Memories of the struggle and the slaughter in the skies and on the ground during the final battle of the Great War welled up in Rajan’s mind. His muscles tightened, ready to fight, and his heart sped up. Fight. Fight or die. Stop the tyrant at Stonefountain at all costs. His mind had been torn between helping Kanvar fight Khalid and keeping the minds of the Great Blue dragons free to fight the Naga Guardsmen. Blood and death surrounded him.

Rajan. Devaj’s thoughts slipped into Rajan’s and eased his memories to the back of his mind. This is not the Great War, and I am not Khalid.

As Irazu landed in the New Stonefountain courtyard, Rajan took a deep breath, trying to calm himself, trying to fight back the red dragon that raged in his soul. Devaj’s dazzle-light armor flashed in the sunlight, blinding Rajan, forcing him to look away. “Where’s Nagaron? Are you hurt?” he asked Devaj.

Devaj put a hand on Rajan’s shoulder. “Nagaron is not here. He and Aarush flew away. They don’t want to fight you. I am far from hurt. I am, in fact, more whole and well than I have ever been in my life.”

Rajan pressed his hand over his eyes. “You’re so bright.”

Devaj summoned one of his golden robes from the palace of Aesir, and it settled over the dazzle-light armor, blocking the sun’s reflection. “Better?”

Rajan blinked and looked at him. “By the Fountain, even your face is glowing, like it does when you stand in water, play your lute, and call the dead.”

“We are very close to Stonefountain. I’m hoping the glow fades before I get back to Aesir.”

“You can’t be close to Stonefountain. Nagaron destroyed it,” Rajan said. “We can’t let him get away. Who knows what he will do next.”

“Nagaron didn’t destroy the Fountain, he moved it. Come with me. I’ll show you.” Devaj led Rajan across the courtyard. “He made all this for me to try to make up for the harm he caused our family and the dead.” Devaj gestured to the palace. “He and I have come to an understanding, and I forgive him.”

“How can you?” Rajan said, stepping away from Devaj. “He’s done too many things, hurt too many people.”

“And you haven’t?”

A shiver of fire ran through Rajan.

“You, me, Nagaron. We’ve all done horrible things that no one in their right mind would forgive,” Devaj said softly.

“You didn’t do anything. Khalid did,” Rajan said. “No one forced Nagaron to drag Jinjani’s soul into the Realm of the Dead and enslave all the spirits there. Have you seen Jinjani’s face? It will never heal. He’ll never have a normal life because Nagaron set the ground terror on him. I can’t forgive that. Jinjani is more than my hunting partner. He’s like one of my own sons.”

“Raj.” Jinjani stepped out of the passageway at the head of the courtyard. His armor was blackened by soot and caked with cooled lava. Multiple punctures in the dragonscale armor marked where the Guardians’ crossbow bolts had hit him.

Rajan’s heart sank. Jinjani had been through far too much for someone so young. He moved his gaze up to Jinjani’s face, expecting the grisly scars he’d grown accustomed to seeing. Instead, he saw Jinjani’s face, fresh and young, the way it had looked the day Rajan had first met him in the fountain chamber of the royal suite in Aesir. Even the scars on his lips were gone.

“I don’t understand,” Rajan spluttered.

“Nagaron used the Heart Stone to heal me,” Jinjani said. “He saved Irazu and me from drowning and made a safe path for us to come here.”

“He had all the Powers,” Devaj said. “He could have conquered the world. He could have killed indiscriminately. We would have fought him, of course, and that war would have been full of carnage and bloodshed enough to make the Great War seem like a child’s game. But he didn’t. He had the Powers, and he used them to build, create, and heal, not subjugate, kill, and destroy. Nagaron is not Khalid. He has no desire for anything beyond a quiet place to live with his dragon. Forgive him, if you can. And if you can’t, I need you to, at least, leave him alone. Just let him go. He’s no threat to anyone.”

Rajan clenched his fists. Fear of Nagaron still gnawed at him. Nagaron was too powerful. What kind of man could move Stonefountain? Everything that had happened over the last couple of weeks whirled through Rajan’s mind. “Don’t go after Nagaron?” he muttered. “Forgive him?”

Rajan remembered sitting on the beach after the battle of the Maran Colony during the Great War when his bloodlust had overcome him as he slaughtered the Guardsmen who served Khalid, shredding their minds, shredding their bodies with his steel claws, biting them and consuming their flesh and blood. He had no longer been bound to Erebus at the time, but his dragon self had taken over in battle. His Majesty King Amar had watched him attack and kill their enemies, and no person in the world hated death and killing more than Amar. Amar, who had wanted to fight the entire war without anyone getting hurt on either side, had witnessed Rajan’s display of everything Amar abhorred. Rajan had not dared face the king after the battle and had stayed far away with Silverwave down by the beach. But Amar came to him. Rajan could see the king’s anguish and loathing of him as Amar approached.

“Your Majesty,” Rajan had said the only thing he could say. “I turn myself over to you for judgment and execution.”

“What have you done that you think is worthy of death?” Amar had asked.

Rajan had clasped his hands in front of him and spoke in a choked voice. “Kumar Raza and Silverwave want to believe that everything I did while bound to the Great Red dragon was not of my own free will. That my mind was overcome by the dragon’s from the beginning. I’ve tried to deny it myself for a time, but I know it’s not true. I chose to bond with the red dragon. I called it to me after my uncle and father tried to kill me. I felt the dragon’s fire and power, and I wanted it. I killed people, Amar. Murdered a lot of people. Shredded them with my claws and feasted on their flesh, and I enjoyed it. Part of me wanted to kill the humans, all of them. I was so angry. My own family had sought my death, because I was a Naga. The humans murder all the Nagas. They show no mercy, no hesitation. They’ve led a purge and hungered for our extinction for a thousand years. And I decided to fight back. I went to Maran to do that. I can’t say if it was the dragon’s plan or my own, but I went willingly. I wanted the humans to suffer. I wanted to subjugate and destroy them. I relished the work I did taking over the Maran Senate.”

Rajan’s full confession to Amar came back to him now. Though he stood in the courtyard of the New Stonefountain, his mind remained locked in the past. He licked his lips and looked over the bay. Silverwave was out there somewhere, but she did not rise to the surface. “I saw into your mind when you refused to perform the wedding ceremony for Dove and me, Your Majesty,” Rajan had continued. “I know you blame me for causing the war that destroyed your kingdom and killed your dragon. I know, and so do you, that the deaths of thousands of dragons and men are laid at my charge. You’ve watched me fight. You’ve seen what I am. I cannot hide it from you or myself any longer, and I turn myself over to you for execution. There is no man more deserving of it than I am.”

Amar’s face had turned to ice. “So much killing. When will it end?” he whispered.

Silverwave had climbed out of the water, then, and wrapped her coils around Amar. Their minds were shielded from Rajan’s, and he had not heard what passed between them.

“All right, Silverwave,” Amar had said in the end. “Let me go.”

Silverwave melted away from him back into the water, and Amar returned to Rajan who awaited Amar’s verdict, head bowed.

“I have heard all the evidence against you and for you,” Amar said. “And I’m ready to give my verdict. Yes, you are worthy of death. You are a murderer, a usurper, a criminal responsible for uncountable slaughter.” Amar’s voice broke, and the icy look in his eyes faded. He pulled Rajan into a tight embrace. “I forgive you, Rajan. I … forgive you.”

Rajan took a deep breath, coming back to the present where he stood in the New Stonefountain courtyard with Devaj and Jinjani. If Amar and the rest of the family could forgive Rajan and accept him, as broken as he was, Rajan knew he should forgive Nagaron. “Devaj,” Rajan said, trying to fight back the lump in his throat. “I just don’t want Nagaron to hurt anyone else.”

Devaj put a hand on his shoulder. “I am certain Nagaron will do no more harm. The Fountain has shown me the depths of his heart, and I know Nagaron is a friend and an ally.”

Rajan wondered how much will-power it had taken Amar to forgive him way back then. Mustering his own strength of will, even though he would never be the caliber of man Amar was, Rajan said, “If you are sure, I will do everything I can to try to forgive Nagaron.”

A faint sound of music shimmered around Rajan, coming from the Fountain as if in response to his words. “I’ve never seen the Fountain, except through your memories,” Rajan told Devaj. “Is it really here?”

“Yes.” Devaj led Rajan down the passageway to the Fountain chamber.

Rajan stepped inside. Light and music swelled around him, stealing his breath, filling him with an indescribable feeling of joy and longing.

“Grandfather?” Jinjani stood beyond the reach of the spray of water and called for Kumar Raza.

The Fountain continued its song, but Kumar Raza didn’t appear. “What’s wrong?” Jinjani asked Devaj. “I thought you brought the spirits here.”

“Just a moment.” Devaj knelt at the edge of the spraying water, closed his eyes, and summoned the Fountain’s marble basin from the chamber in Varna. “I hope Nagaron doesn’t mind. I think he purposely created this Fountain to look like it did long ago.”

Aarush and I drew it that way for a reason, Nagaron spoke into all of their minds. It’s rather difficult to fit a full-grown dragon into that basin to create a bond.

But I need a standing body of water to speak with the dead, Devaj responded.

“Wait,” Rajan interrupted. “Why would a Naga and a dragon need to stand in the Fountain to create a bond? That has never been part of the bonding ceremony that I know of.”

It was the only way to make a bond in my time, Nagaron said. It’s not like any of us had Naga parents. We were all just human.

“You’re saying anyone, any human who wants, can bond with a dragon and become a Naga?” Rajan asked. Heat rose up his neck into his face. “My wife doesn’t have to die while I’m barely over a hundred. Eleanor, my boys, none of them are Nagas. I’ll still be a young man when they’re all dead of old age.” It felt strange putting into words the fears that had plagued Rajan since he’d married Dove.

The choice is theirs, and their dragons’, of course, Nagaron said.

Rajan sucked in a sharp breath, left the chamber, and paced the halls, trying to figure out what he would say to Dove, how he would convince his family they wanted to become Nagas. In the back of his mind, he heard Nagaron go on to describe the civilization he intended to build in the Untamed Lands. A nation of full equality between humans and Nagas. Anyone could choose to bond or not, even children of Nagas who did not want to bond could have their fevers quenched in the fountain instead. There would be no king. All would live under clan law: everyone working for the good of everyone else. All working to their capacity. Property and wealth belonging to all. Everyone with an equal say in the governance of the clan. No rich and poor. No debt. No indentures. Only peace and freedom.

Rajan? Silverwave’s mind came into Rajan’s. Through Silverwave’s eyes, he could see his boat anchored at the pier in front of his beach house in Aersir. Loghern, Tolan, Rabbit, and Edric climbed down the ramp, and Dove rushed out of the house to meet them. “Where’s Rajan?” She asked, her eyes searching the deck for any sign of him. “Is he not here with you? Tell me he isn’t . . . dead.”

Loghern, Rajan spoke into the minstrel’s mind. Please assure Dove that I am fine. I’m in the Untamed Land with Jinjani and Devaj. No one is dead. No one is hurt. All is well. We’ll be home soon.

I assume Jinjani and Aerick killed Nagaron then? Loghern asked. Tolan has been beside himself with worry and guilt, fearing he had sent Jinjani to his death.

Rajan hesitated to answer that. He leaned against the rough stone wall beside a potted fern. I think it is best if Tolan discusses that with Jinjani in person. Though I know neither of them are capable of carrying on a conversation at this distance.

What happened with Nagaron? Loghern pressed.

I don’t want to talk about it, Rajan said. Just assure everyone that Devaj, Jinjani, and I are safe. He tried to suppress the memory of feeling the crossbow bolts hitting Jinjani as he covered Devaj’s flight from Stonefountain, the memory of Nagaron flinging Rajan across the water hole and flying away with Devaj, and the sensation of Jinjani and Irazu plunging to their deaths in the ocean. But those flickers of thought escaped from his mind into Loghern’s before he could block them.

What? Loghern said in dismay.

Pretend you didn’t see that, Rajan said, locking those thoughts away. And for goodness’ sake don’t share them with any of the family. This is all that matters. Rajan replaced the dark and violent thoughts with the vision of Devaj and Jinjani whole and unhurt, standing at Stonefountain, waiting for the marble basin to fill so they could converse with the dead.

If you say so. Loghern put a comforting arm around Dove. “Rajan is safe,” he told her. “He and Devaj are taking longer to return on Elkatran, because Jinjani’s dragon is with him, and volcanic dragons can’t fly as fast as Great Gold dragons can. His Majesty and Rajan refuse to leave Jinjani and Irazu behind.” Is that close enough to the truth? Loghern asked Rajan. What in the world are you doing at Stonefountain? Trying to start a war?

We are not at Stonefountain, Devaj’s mind pressed into their conversation. Nagaron and I have moved it from Varna to the Untamed Lands. There will be no war.

Devaj’s mind withdrew, and Loghern rubbed his head. Even with as powerful as Christary was, Loghern was too new to being a Naga to sustain long distance talk for long. Thank you for reassuring my wife, Rajan said. Give her my love. I will see her soon. He pulled his mind away from Loghern’s and retraced his steps back to the Fountain.

* * * *

Devaj and Elkatran let Rajan down in front of the blue and silver cottage on the beach at Aesir Bay. The Silver Lady and two other boats were moored at the pier in front of the house. The sound of Elkatran’s approach had sent Dove and Rajan’s two teenage sons, Edward and Joseph, bursting from the front door and racing down the stairs to meet Rajan on the sand.

Dove embraced Rajan in a tight hug. “Don’t ever scare me like that again,” she said loud enough Devaj could hear her from Elkatran’s back. “If you leave on a boat, you darn well better return on it.”

“I’ll remember that in the future,” Rajan said, returning her hug and greeting his sons.

Do you think he will be able to convince them to look for dragons to bond with? Devaj asked Elkatran as he winged away, heading for the palace.

I hope so, Elkatran said. I can’t imagine how his life would be without them.

A pair of royal guards lifted from the city wall as Elkatran neared.

Your Majesty, welcome home, the senior guard said. Will you be landing in the courtyard, or should I send someone to open the windows in the royal suite?

Tell them to open the windows. It’s been a long flight, Devaj said.

By the time Elkatran swept across the river, the stained-glass windows of the royal suite were open wide, allowing Elkatran to land in the fountain chamber at the center. The cobalt tiles on the walls glimmered in the late afternoon sunlight. The pleasant patter of the fountain filled the space. Devaj dismounted and ran his fingers through the water as he crossed the room toward his sleep chamber.

Evelyn rose from one of the gold couches where she had been waiting for him to arrive. “You have been gone longer than I hoped you would be,” she said, taking his hand.

Devaj brushed her golden hair back from her face. A hairpiece of dangling pearls slipped across his knuckles. “Evelyn, I—” He found himself kissing her and completing the sentence with his mind instead of his voice. Love you. More than I’ll ever be able to explain to you. I’ve missed you. I hope we can be together for our whole lives, and that we will live long and love forever.

You’ve been spending time with Bensharie, it seems, she said, her lips moving against his like gentle rain. Did he write that bit of poetry out for you to memorize?

Devaj broke away from the kiss with a laugh. “No, he did not. I came up with that on my own. I am a minstrel, remember. Would you like me to put those lyrics to music?”

Evelyn pressed a hand against his temples, searching his mind for the shadows, nightmares, and incoherent thoughts that had haunted him before he left Aesir.

“I’m all right,” Devaj said, lifting her hand away from his head. “The war is over. The spirits are at peace. I have so much to tell you. Things I want to do. Plans I want to make with you. By the Fountain, I hope you like them.” Devaj could think of no way he could break the news that he wanted to hand the throne over to Niamh and Shaunty and retire to Stonefountain.

His true home lay on the other side of the world, but it would be no home at all without Evelyn. And Tolan, of course, who would build a new Great Library with books transcribed and sent over by Aadi and the scholars of Aesir. Devaj longed to bring his parents to Stonefountain. He could never live again with Kanvar in this world, but Kanvar’s wife, Tana, and her dragon, Vasanti, might be persuaded to come and bring Asha. Nagaron was already working to convert the warm northern part of the Untamed Lands into a jungle where Vasanti would feel at home. The southern tip of the land, with its ice and snow, would be perfect for Frost and Denali. Eska had never had enough time with her son since he and Frost had been forced to move to Darvat to keep Frost cool. If Denali and Frost came to the New Stonefountain, Eska would come as well. Devaj also hoped to convince Edric to bring his wife, their children, and grandchildren to the new land. Rajan had already agreed, if Dove was willing. Jinjani and Irazu had remained behind to help Nagaron build the settlement and were already calling the place home. In a perfect world, Devaj’s family would be united and happy, living in the circle of Stonefountain’s power. But the whole sublime image hinged on Evelyn’s willingness. Devaj would not relocate to Stonefountain without her.

“That’s a beautiful picture,” Evelyn said.

Devaj blinked. He hadn’t intended to share his vision of Stonefountain with her without a better explanation first. “Forgive me. I guess my mind shields are still a little bit faulty.” He watched Evelyn’s face, trying to gauge her reaction.

She looked away from him. “I need to think about it.”

“I understand,” Devaj said. “I really wasn’t going to share all that with you right now. We’ve been apart for too long. Take your time. Think it over.”

Evelyn pressed a hand against his chest and looked back into his eyes. “I also have something I need to tell you. It’s important. I wanted to tell you when I first returned from House Triumph, but you weren’t here, and when you did come, you were in no condition to hear it and did not stay.”

Devaj took her hand. “I’m sorry. I was not myself and did not realize you needed to talk to me. My mind was lost in the Realm of the Dead. I had no choice but to go and find some way to save them.”  He stroked her cheek. “Much has happened. I have walked with the dead, but I promise you, I am now fully with the living. What is so dire that you could not tell me before?”

A smile lit Evelyn’s face, and a tear appeared at the edge of her eye. “Not dire, Your Majesty. Just special and important. I am pregnant. You and I are going to have a child who will be heir to the throne. You can’t give the crown to Niamh.”

Devaj’s heart leaped with joy. “I suppose it does complicate things, but in a happy way. Perhaps Niamh and Shaunty can rule as regents until our child comes of age, and you could still come with me to Stonefountain. It will be a beautiful, safe place to raise a child.”

“It does seem nice from the image in your mind. I was hoping to spend a few years at House Triumph while the child is young, in any case. Stonefountain will be even better, if we can all be there together. Welcome home, Your Majesty.” Evelyn pressed her lips against his again, and this time, Devaj did not break away.

This entry was posted in A Long Way Home and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment